Bacon Cheddar Biscones

 I think I’ve found my favorite basic biscuit recipe.

I just can’t decide which flavor combination I like to bake into them. I’ve made this recipe several times as a sweet breakfast treat with cinnamon chips and drizzled with cinnamon glaze.  But this version with aged white cheddar cheese, crispy chopped bacon, and green  onions is just fabulous.  I used the best aged cheddar I could find and it paired so well with the tangy buttermilk and freshly ground pepper.  Don’t expect gobs of melted cheese inside though.  It bakes right into the dough, and that is just fine by me.

I don’t know which I like better, but there is no need to decide.  They’re both delicious.

Bacon Cheddar Biscones
Makes about 6 biscones

  • 5 slices bacon
  • ¾ cup unbleached all-purpose flour
  • ¾ cup cake flour (not self-rising)
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 stick cold unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • ¾ cup buttermilk
  • 3/4 cup shredded aged cheddar cheese
  • 2-3 tablespoons diced scallions
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tablespoons milk or cream
  1. Preheat the oven to 375° and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.  Set aside.  Line a microwave-safe plate with paper towels and top with the bacon slices in an even layer.  Cook bacon in the microwave until just crisp.  Use additional paper towels to blot the cooked bacon and then chop it into 1/4-inch diced pieces.  Put the bacon in a bowl and refrigerate while measuring the remaining ingredients.
  2. Prepare an egg wash by whisking the egg and 2 tablespoons milk in a small bowl.  Set aside.
  3. In a large bowl of an electric mixer, briefly whisk both flours, sugar, baking powder, salt and pepper until combined.   Add the butter and, using a few quick on/offs on slow speed, carefully mix without causing the flour to fly out.  Once it starts to blend in, mix on slow speed continuously 1-2 minutes until you have large chunks of butter and sandy patches of flour.  You can use the mixer a bit more, or use clean hands to pinch and rub the large chunks until you have various-sized pieces about the size of a pea and smaller.
  4. Gently stir in the bacon, cheese, and scallions.
  5. Pour in most of the milk and gently mix on slow speed until the mixture starts to combine.  Add the remaining milk and mix just until no bits of flour remain in the bottom of the bowl.  Use a sturdy spoon or spatula to scrape the sides of the bowl and give it a final stir.  The mixture will resemble a gooey mess and that is fine.
  6. Using a large ice-cream scoop, scoop mounds of the dough onto the prepared baking sheets, arranging them about 1 inch apart.  Brush the tops of the biscones liberally with the egg wash.
  7. Bake for 15 to 18 minutes, rotating the baking sheets halfway through, until the biscones are golden and fully baked. Remove from the oven and let cool for 10 minutes.

Notes:

  • Recipe adapted from Back in the Day Bakery.
  • The recipe above has been halved from the original, so it can easily be doubled for 10-12 biscones.
  • For high-altitude baking, decrease baking powder to 2 ½ teaspoons.
Comments

  1. I wish I were eating one of those right now…they look delicious! There are a couple things that sound nice about this recipe…first, that you can use a mixer instead of having to cut the butter in (I never know if I’m doing that right), and second, you don’t have to roll them out!

    • Both are fab reasons to use this recipe. It really only takes a few seconds in the mixer and it’s ready. And no rolling out is nice. I love to use the scooper. I still like my other recipe for cutting out biscuits that rise high, but I love the versatility of this one.
      p.s. I’m making a SK dinner tonight. 🙂

      • I do love those biscuits that you roll out. The last time I made them I coated them with melted butter instead of the egg wash and I thought that was a nice option.

  2. Oh that does sound good.

Leave a Reply

