S’more Bars

A little kitchen tidbit I learned from my mom was to keep a collection of recipes that aren’t difficult to put together, and will please a crowd.  There will always be times when an unexpected event comes up and it’s nice to whip up a little something to share that doesn’t require an entire evening in the kitchen or a trip to the grocery store.  You know what I’m talking about.  Sure, everyone loves the wow factor of a four-layer cake that’s complete with frosting, oohs and ahhs, but I’ve never had anyone complain after being served Nutella Rice Krispie Squares, either.

These bars definitely fall into the category of easy to make and pleases a crowd.  And I love recipes that don’t even require a mixer.  Don’t get me wrong.  My Kitchenaid and I go way back and she’s never let me down, but I don’t miss the extra step of hoisting her up from the bottom cabinet.  And of course, no waiting for butter to soften means they can be thrown together on a whim. 

Another bonus is how adaptable this basic blondie is.  I liked the idea of graham crackers, chocolate, and marshmallows, but you can take it any direction you’re craving.  I’m thinking next time I’ll try white chocolate and toasted coconut.  And maybe next time will be sooner than later.

S’more Bars
Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½  teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 1/2 cups light brown sugar, packed
  • ½ cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chocolate chips (I used semisweet baking chunks)
  • 3/4 cup graham cracker crumbs
  • 1 ½ cups mini marshmallows

Instructions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Line a 9×13 aluminum baking pan with foil and lightly spray the bottom and sides with baking spray.

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, salt, and baking powder, and mix together.

In a large bowl, combine the butter, sugars, and vanilla and mix until smooth.  Stir in the eggs one at a time.  Add the dry ingredients in two additions, stirring until everything is just mixed together.  Now’s the time to add your chosen mix-ins.  Here, the crumbs, chocolate, and marshmallows.

Bake for 20-25 minutes, until the middle is set the edges are just starting to turn golden.  Let the bars cool completely before cutting.

Adapted from What’s Baking in the Barbershop?!, via smitten kitchen

Comments

  1. Mmm, those look really good! I love blondie bars, and turning them into s’mores was a good idea. Does chocolate sheet cake fall under this category? So good but so easy, and you usually have must of the ingredients on hand. Even the buttermilk can be faked. And I can never remember to put butter out to soften.

    • Thanks! They will be a keeper for sure.
      The chocolate cake absolutely fits that category! Yum. I’m not good about the butter either. When I figure out what I want to make, I want to start right now.

Leave a Reply

