Greek Yogurt Onion Dip

 

I have a confession to make.  I planned to write on this little blog all about how fantastic it is to bake your own potato chips in the oven.  I’d seen plenty of examples of this somewhat healthier alternative to buying fried potato chips in a bag.  I thought it would be a fun experiment and tasty side to go along with grilled burgers on homemade rolls.

And that’s where the fun part of the potato chip story ended.  For the first batch, I used a mandoline to cut a russet potato into thin, perfect slices.  I tossed them with a little olive oil, salt, and pepper, and it looked like the experiment would be delicious.  However, while they still tasted great, they weren’t what I had in mind.  By the time the bigger chips were just right, the smaller chips were extra dark and crispy.  I won’t lie though.  We still enjoyed the crunchiest of the chips dunked in this tangy dip with Greek yogurt.

The second time around, I used the slicing blade on my food processor to make the uniformed slices a bit thicker.  When I took a peek half-way through baking, it looked more like a pan of scalloped potatoes than potato chips.  I had to leave them in the oven for a looong time.  But still, they were pretty tasty along with the same Greek yogurt dip with onions.

I don’t think I’ve given up on the idea of baked potato chips.  Maybe next time, I’ll try the method that worked so well for baked fries.  I soaked the sliced potatoes in water for a few minutes to draw out the starch.  One thing I did learn from this experiment is that Greek yogurt combined with onions makes a fantastic dip.  For now though, I’ll just buy the chips in a bag.


Greek Yogurt Onion Dip

  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1 small yellow onion, minced
  • 2 scallions, thinly sliced, greens and whites
  • 1 1/4 cups nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 3/4 teaspoon onion powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon coarsely ground black pepper

Directions

Heat oil over medium heat and add the yellow onions and scallions, reserving a large pinch of greens to set aside.  Cook the onions, stirring often, until they are golden brown and soft, about 10 minutes.  Remove from heat and allow the mixture to cool.

Combine the cooled onions, Greek yogurt, mayonnaise, onion powder, garlic powder, salt, and pepper and stir well to incorporate.  Garnish with reserved green onions.  Chill for 1 hour to let flavors meld. Serve with chips (homemade or purchased).

Recipe from Ellie Krieger, found on foodnetwork.com

Comments

  1. I really do like that dip. It’s as satisfying to me as any sour cream based dip would be. You know, I’m not completely sure, but I think the garnish in your photos looks less like green onions and more like chives. Organic chives… from a container garden…

Leave a Reply

