Red Velvet Cake and Cream Cheese Ice Cream

I don’t have a list of specific favorite things today, but I do have one general favorite.  It’s ice cream.  Ice cream is one of my favorite things ever.  I’m not picky about the flavor.  I like anything from caramel to cookies and cream.  The only thing I really don’t like messing up my frozen treat is nuts.  And even then, I can sometimes handle pralines.  How can nuts that are rolled in sugar taste bad?

 

Not only is ice cream one of my favorites to eat, it’s also fun to make.  I have the ice cream attachment for my Kitchenaid and it is awesome.  I keep the bowl in the freezer, so it’s always ready when a craving for ice cream strikes.  Recently when the weather started turning warmer, I knew I wanted to make the first batch of the season, but I had to decide on a flavor.  Then I remembered the red velvet cake scraps in my freezer from my baking disaster back in February, and thought that was a good place to start.  I found a recipe in Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams at Home with a cream cheese base that mixes in gooey butter cake.  Cream cheese ice cream with chunks of red velvet cake mixed in?  It was done and done.   

This combination was as delicious as I hoped it would be.  And it was oh so very rich.  A very small dish (or a few spoonfuls from the freezer) is just right.  If you don’t have leftovers from recent kitchen disasters waiting for a second chance, I think any flavor of cupcake would work here.   Think of all the possibilities of mixing cake right into your ice cream.  It’s a completely different ice cream cake.  You could even use it to make ice cream cake.  Next time you bake a batch of your favorite cupcake, wrap two or three and store them in the freezer until the craving for ice cream strikes.

Red Velvet and Cream Cheese Ice Cream
Yield:  about 1 quart

  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 1 tablespoon plus one teaspoon cornstarch
  • 8 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • ½ teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 ¼ cups heavy cream
  • 2/3 packed light brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons light corn syrup
  • 2 to 3 standard-sized cupcakes (or the equivalent in cake scraps) cut into 1/2-inch cubes
  1. Place one cupcake in the bowl of a food processor and pulse until it forms coarse crumbs.  Set the crumbs aside.
  2. In a small bowl, mix about two tablespoons of the milk with the cornstarch until no lumps remain.
  3. Mix the cream cheese in a large bowl with the salt until they are smooth.  Fill a large bowl about half-full with ice.  Add water until it just covers the ice and set it aside.
  4. Combine the rest of the milk, the cream, sugar, and corn syrup in a medium sauce pan and bring to a rolling boil over medium-high heat, and boil about four minutes.  Remove from the heat and gradually mix in the cornstarch mixture.  Return the pan back to medium-high heat and cook, stirring with a heat-proof spatula, until slightly thickened. About one minute.  Remove from the heat.
  5. Gradually whisk the milk mixture into the cream cheese until smooth.  Pour the mixture into a one-gallon plastic freezer bag and submerge the bag in the ice bath.  Add more ice if necessary.  Let it chill about 30 minutes.
  6. Pour the ice cream base into the bowl of an ice cream maker, and follow the maker’s instructions.  As the ice cream starts to thicken, add the cake crumbs.  Continue to spin the ice cream until thick and creamy.
  7. Pack the ice cream into a freezer storage container, layering it with the cake cubes.  Freeze in the coldest part of your freezer at least four hours.

Adapted from Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams at Home

Comments

  1. It was so delicious and creative!

Leave a Reply

