Chocolate Whoopie Pies with Salted Dulce de Leche Frosting

Happy Friday!  I don’t have a list of Friday faves today.  I’ve wanted to share this recipe for a week, but I’ve spent much of the week fighting with my computer.  Call me crazy, but I feel like power struggles with electronic devices should be won by the human.  I’m learning that it’s not always the case.  Oh well.

 Are you familiar with whoopie pies?  I’m sure you are.  Though their name suggests it, they have nothing to do with pie.  Many thought these hand-held desserts that look like a cookie and taste like cake would become the “new cupcake.”  While I don’t think anything will take the place of cupcakes, I do think you should give these a try. 

 When I spotted the recipe for chocolate whoopie pies in One Girl Cookies, I thought they looked like a pretty good treat to take to work.  Since whoopie pies are made with two soft cookies sandwiched together with frosting, they are perfect for taking along places.  You can pile them into a container and not worry about them moving around and losing their frosting.  In the book, the cookies were paired with peppermint frosting.  I’m sure they would have been good, but the dulce de leche frosting with the preceding recipe caught my attention.  I can tell you right now that I was very pleased with this substitution.  When I tried the frosting, I was pretty sure that I wanted to eat it out of a bowl for dinner.  It was that good. 

 

 

Once the cookies were assembled, I was happy with the results, but wished my new favorite frosting would have stood out a little more. I’m not complaining though.   I wouldn’t say that rich, fudgy cookies are ever a bad thing.  Maybe next time, I’ll try making some chocolate cupcakes so I can pile this frosting on top.

Chocolate Whoopie Pies
makes 18-24

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • ½ cup Dutch-processed cocoa flour
  • ¾ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon table salt
  • ½ cup granulated sugar
  • ½ cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • ½ cup plain Greek yogurt (I used fat-free)
  • 3 large eggs, room temperature
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

Dulce de Leche Frosting

  • 4 ounces cream cheese, at room temperature
  • 5 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup dulce de leche
  • ¼ teaspoon kosher salt
  • 3 cups confectioners’ sugar
  1. In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt.  Set aside.
  1. In a large mixing bowl, combine granulated sugar, brown sugar, and oil.  Add the yogurt, eggs, and vanilla.  Using the paddle attachment, mix until completely combined, about three minutes.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl.  In three additions, slowly stir in the flour mixture.  Mix at medium speed just until everything is combined and smooth.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl and stir the batter by hand a few times just to make sure everything is combined.  Refrigerate for 30 minutes.  If you leave it in the fridge longer than that and are using a cookie scoop to form the cookies, it will be difficult to release the batter from the scoop.
  1. To make the frosting, beat the cream cheese with a mixer on medium speed until smooth.  Add the butter and beat until smooth and combined, about two minutes.  Scrape the sides of the bowl and add the vanilla, dulce de leche, and salt.  Mix until combined.  Add the confectioners’ sugar a little at a time and beat until smooth.  Alternatively (my preferred method), mix the cream cheese and butter together in the bowl of a food processor.  Dump the remaining ingredients in and mix until smooth.  Refrigerate until you are ready to assemble the cookies.
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Line baking sheets with parchment paper.
  1. For each row of cookies, lightly spray a row of cooking spray on the parchment paper.  Use a cookie scoop or spoon to drop 1 to 2 tablespoons of batter in mounds onto the baking sheet about two inches apart.  Alternatively, you can use a pastry bag to pipe two-inch circles of batter to form the cookies.  Depending on the size of your cookies, bake 9-11 minutes.  When done, the cookies will just start to crack on top, and they will be firm when pressed.  Do not over bake.  Remove from the oven and allow the cookies to sit on the pan for a few minutes.  Slide the parchment paper with the cookies to a cooling rack and allow them to cool completely.  Carefully use a thin spatula to remove the cookies from the parchment paper.
  1. To assemble, turn half of the cookies upside down.  Pipe or spoon about one tablespoon of frosting onto that half.  Top each with another cookie, flat side down, and press lightly.  Let cookies firm up in the refrigerator for about 30 minutes to let them set before serving.  Store covered in the refrigerator with parchment between the layers.

Notes:

  • Slightly adapted from One Girl Cookies
  • You will have frosting left over. I trust that you’ll find something to do with it.
Comments

  1. Marilyn Richards says:

    Yum! The frosting really caught my attention. It would be good on almost anything! I like your idea of just eating it plain. (Aubree would love it too, I’m sure! In a cup, no less.) Thanks for having us over for Cami’s welcome home. The food was great and the company was extraordinary.

    • Thanks so much, Mar. I dare you to make this frosting and not eat more than you meant to plain. I’m glad you were able to come over – it was fun. Hope you’re feeling better.

Leave a Reply

