Classic Blueberry Muffins

After spending some time pondering about which treat to share first, I decided on these little gems.  I can’t count how many times I’ve made them.  They are super quick to mix together.  And since the butter is melted, there is no need to get out the mixer.  Bonus.

The original recipe uses lemon zest, and they are delicious.  But when the mood strikes to make blueberry muffins, I don’t often almost never have lemons on hand for zesting.  I do usually have almond extract in the pantry, and it is a nice compliment to the blueberries.  These muffins freeze beautifully, and make nice treat to take out of the freezer for a quick breakfast.

Yield:  12 standard or 6 jumbo muffins

Ingredients

1 ½ cups + 2 T all-purpose flour (225 g)

2/3 cup sugar (132 g)

1 ¼ teaspoons baking powder

½ teaspoon kosher salt

½ cup unsalted butter, melted (1 stick)

2 large eggs

½ cup + 2 tablespoons milk

1 teaspoon almond extract

1 cup blueberries, fresh or frozen (right from the freezer)

Preheat the oven to 375° with one rack in the middle of the oven.  Spray muffin cups with cooking spray or line with muffin papers.

Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl.  In a separate bowl, whisk together the melted butter, eggs, milk, and almond extract.  Add the wet ingredients to the large bowl and mix until mostly combined.  Add the blueberries and mix until just combined.  Try not to stir too much, or the berries will stain the batter.  Use a scoop to portion the batter into the muffin cups.

Bake for 10 minutes, and then reduce the temperature to 350°.  Bake 8-10 more minutes for standard or 15-17 more minutes for jumbo sized muffins.  The tops should be golden brown.

Allow the muffins to cool in the pan for 10 minutes, and remove to cool on a wire rack.

Notes:
Recipe adapted from The Sweeter Side of Amy’s Bread.

For a lemony kick, substitute 1 teaspoon lemon zest and ¼ teaspoon lemon extract for the almond extract.

Comments

  1. Love it. You are a Rockstar!

  2. I made these for breakfast this morning and they were delicious! I liked the almond flavoring, I don’t think I’ve ever used that in blueberry muffins before.

    • Yay! I’m glad you liked them. I think the first time I used the almond extract was a morning I didn’t have lemon extract and thought it would work fine. But I liked it so much that I started using it most of the time.

  3. Marilyn Richards says:

    I love your blog! The pictures make my mouth water. I will try the muffins when I get a spare minute. Keep up the good work. You’re way ahead of me!

  4. SWEET! Now I can make these the right way! Can’t wait to make the house smell like blueberries!

Leave a Reply

