Breakfast Smoothie

Breakfast Smoothie To Go

I would be happy to say that I’ve discovered the world’s best and most perfect smoothie recipe, and share that recipe with you.  But the truth is that I don’t think such a recipe exists.  Your perfect smoothie is a combination of what you’re in the mood for and what you have in the kitchen.  But I’ll tell you how I make my favorite breakfast smoothie.

It starts with a frozen banana, which are never in short supply in my freezer.  I don’t even do anything to prepare them after they’ve gone all spotty-brown on the kitchen counter.  They get tossed in the freezer peel and all.  When I’m ready to make a smoothie, or even Dorie’s yummy banana Bundt cake, I plop them in the microwave about 30 seconds.  Then I just barely slice lengthwise down the peel, open it up, and cut the fruit into a few chunks.  Ready.

Breakfast Smoothie

The second ingredient in my smoothie is always frozen blueberries.  Whenever I find a great deal on fresh blueberries, I buy lots and freeze them.  This time of year there are still a few bags left, buried under the bananas.  A large handful is just right.

Next is something liquidy to blend it all together, like skim milk or Greek yogurt.  One of my faves is the mixed berry Fruit and Protein blend from Silk.  Start with 3/4 cup and give it a few whirls.  If it’s too thick, add a little more until it’s the way you like it.

Now I like to add a couple scoops of old-fashioned oats.  This might sound unusual, but it totally works.  The smoothie will be more filling, and make it easier to avoid snacks until lunchtime.  Add a little sweet if you want, or not, it’s up to you.  And that’s it.  I like to pour it all into a to-go cup and stick it in the freezer while I clean up.  A few minutes later, I’m heading out the door with a delicious breakfast smoothie to go.

Breakfast Smoothie

1 frozen banana, slightly thawed and cut into chunks
½ cup frozen berries
¾ cup Fruit and Protein blend; substitute yogurt, milk, or milk-alternative
2 Tablespoons old-fashioned oats
1 teaspoon agave nectar or honey

  1. Add the banana, fruit and liquid to the blender and blend until combined.  Scrape the bottom and blend a little more.  Add the oats and agave.  Blend some more.
  2. If it’s too thick, add some liquid.  If it’s too thin, add more berries and blend.  Repeat until it reaches desired consistency.
  3. Pour into a cup and place it in the freezer just a few minutes to allow the oats to soften.
Comments

  1. I love that first photo with all your heading-out-the-door stuff! And of course I love a good breakfast smoothie. Blueberry, oats, and banana is right up my alley. I didn’t know about the Silk blends…I’ll have to try those out sometime soon.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

