Meyer Lemon Curd

I used to wonder what the fuss was about with Meyer lemons.

Meyer lemon curd 2

I would see recipes for baked treats like Meyer lemon bars, Bundt cakes, or muffins, and the author would usually recommend adding a little more sugar to regular lemons for those “not lucky enough to have Meyer lemons.”  I felt so left out.  How different could they be?  As it turns out, they are quite a bit different.  My local Smith’s grocery store recently starting selling these little gems, so of course I was excited to try them out.

The first time I saw them at the store, I wasn’t sure if I’d ever see them again, so I bought a large handful.  I wasn’t sure what I wanted to make with them, but I knew it should be something simple that would highlight the lemon flavor.  I’m already a fan of lemon curd, so I figured that Meyer lemon curd would be a real treat.  I started looking for recipes, and found this one from David Lebovitz.  He’s never let me down before, so I went with it.
Meyer lemon curd

As soon as I cut into the fruit and took a whiff of the orange-lemon fragrance, I knew this was better than a regular lemon.  In slightly longer than no time, I had a luscious and creamy Meyer lemon curd.  And what did I put it on?  Not all that much.  Mostly, I had a sweet spoonful straight out of the jar for dessert for several nights in a row.  And now I know what the fuss is about.

Meyer Lemon Curd
makes about 1 cup

½ cup Meyer lemon juice, freshly-squeezed
1/3 cup sugar
2 large egg yolks
2 large eggs
a pinch of salt
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, cubed

Set a mesh strainer over a large bowl and set aside.

In a medium saucepan, whisk together the lemon juice, sugar, egg yolks, eggs, and salt.  Add the butter cubes and set the pan over low heat.  Whisk constantly until the butter is melted.

Increase the heat just a bit to moderate and keep whisking until the mixture thickens and starts to become jelly-like, about 3-4 minutes.  It’s done when you lift the whisk and the mixture holds its shape when it falls back into the saucepan from the whisk.

Immediately press the curd through the strainer.  Store the strained lemon curd in the refrigerator.  It will keep for one week.
Lemons

Notes:
Recipe from David Lebovitz
I had no problems with this recipe, but I’ve been known to get a little impatient while making curd and end up scrambling the eggs just a bit.  This can be saved by dumping the mixture into the heat-safe bowl of a food processor and pulsing a few times.
If you have a couple lemons left over, this Meyer Lemon Drop cocktail is delightful.

Comments

  1. This looks absolutely delicious! The Meyer lemon you gave me just ended up squeezed into a rum and coke, but I enjoyed it. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

