Green Bean Bundles

Raise your hand if you cook for picky eaters who don’t really care for green veggies.  I have a little secret for you.  Wrap the vegetables in bacon.  I’ve heard it said that an old shoe would taste pretty good wrapped in bacon.  That said, these green beans wrapped in bacon are pretty delicious.  When I purchased the book from Rather Sweet Bakery, I imagined I’d be using it to make scones, cakes, and cookies.  Little did I know that the recipe I’d reach for most often would be for green beans.

Not that you really need to follow the recipe to make them because it’s very flexible.  It says to let the green beans marinate overnight, but more than once I’ve ran out of ambition the night before serving.  I mixed everything together, rolled them up, and stuck them in the oven.  I don’t think anyone cared.  Yes, the ground mustard pairs well with the brown sugar, but if you don’t have it, don’t worry about it.  It’s the long roast in the oven (and the bacon) that makes these green beans taste so good.

First, the beans are blanched for a few minutes, then mixed with a little of this and that and wrapped up in bacon.

Even when they’re only partially roasted, they’ll look good enough to eat.

And when they’re done, you’ll have a delicious side dish to round out your Thanksgiving or any other meal.  The question is, does it still count as a vegetable?

Green Bean Bundles
Serves 6-8

  • 1 1/2 lbs green beans, trimmed
  • 2-4 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 teaspoon dry mustard
  • 1 teaspoon brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 8 ounces bacon, cut in half
  1. Fill a large saucepan with water and bring it to a boil over high heat.
  2. Wash and trim the beans.
  3. Add the beans to the boiling water and blanch for 3 to 4 minutes, until the beans are pliable but still crunchy.
  4. Drain the beans and run them under cold water. Pat dry with paper towels or a clean dish towel and place them in a shallow ovenproof casserole dish.
  5. In a medium microwave safe bowl, melt the butter.  Stir in the dry mustard, brown sugar, garlic, and salt.
  6. Pour the butter mixture over the green beans, cover and refrigerate for at least 4 hours or overnight.
  7. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
  8. Make a bundle of 8 or 9 beans and wrap with half a bacon slice.  Place the bundle seam-side down in the same casserole dish used for marinating.  Continue with the rest of the beans and arrange in a single layer.
  9. Bake, uncovered, for 45 minutes or until the bacon is cooked and the beans look wrinkled.

Recipe slightly adapted from The Pastry Queen Christmas

Comments

  1. Yay, green bean bundles! These are so good, I think they are your lifetime assignment for family dinners. And now that I have the official recipe, I’ll have to surprise Taylor with them sometime. I’m so lazy they will probably turn into the main course, though. Just add toast and it’s a meal, haha.What kind of bacon do you buy?

  2. Oh and I especially like the third photo down. Looks good!

    • Thank you very much! It’s true. If I want to try bringing something new, I’ll still bring the beans. I always buy the Kroger center cut bacon. I’ve learned that not all packages are the same though. If you look at a few, you can get one that’s more meat and not all fat.

  3. Sarah Cannon says:

    Um I hope that you wrapped each bean.

  4. i love green beans AND bacon!! yummmoooo!

  5. Amazing! I definitely need to add this to my thanksgiving menu!

  6. Thanks so much for commenting on my post. I love this idea, which is why you were featured first! I hope it brought some traffic. Such a great recipe!

    Cheers!
    xoxo

  7. Astrid Swift says:

    Nicole, I wouldn’t mind wrapping you in bacon you beautiful thing.

  8. Did you cook them in the rest of the marinade? They look fabulous!

  9. Made these for Thanksgiving and they were a hit! Everyone was asking for the recipe! Thanks for sharing!

  10. Greetings! Very useful advice in this particular article!

    It’s the little changes that make the biggest changes. Thanks for sharing!

Trackbacks

  1. […] a tradition of their own because any of these are worthy to be requested year after year.  Green Bean Bundles Pumpkin Goat Cheese Dip […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

